top of page

The Harpoon

The main piece of this project was always going to be the Harpoon which the Cities in Mortal Engines use to hook onto smaller town and moving rigs and swallow them up for scrap and resources. Which was one of the reason I left this part til last as I wanted to get the feel of the rest of the scene first before I created the Harpoon. I used references from machines at the science museum in London and also looked at old whaling harpoons and hows they were designed. I'll include some of the reference images I used for inspiration and then some final shots of how the harpoon looks. I'm happy with how it turned out I feel like I could have added a bit more detail to the Harpoon itself but I think it's clear what it is and I think it fits well with the rest of the environment.


bottom of page