top of page

Finishing Touches and Lighting

At this point I decided to add a last few sets of models which included viewing binoculars to fill out the viewing stand area as it felt pretty empty, I also added Beer Taps to the bar which was looking kind of empty. I also created some barrels and beer kegs which I then decided to make into tables and chairs as well so it looks like they've been used for a second purpose, which I thought was cool and fit the theme of scavenged items. Then I decided to fill in some of the space on the walls with posters which hopefully try to tell some kind of story about a power struggle within the city and uprisings. I think adding more of these smaller details really helped the environment perk up as it was looking quite dull but now it feels more full.

The lighting came last as after having spoken to people in industry they tend to work this way (for smaller companies as in larger ones they have whole different departments for lighting). I learnt a lot during semester 2 about lighting and how best to utilise the tools within unreal engine to make the best looking scene I can. I think the lighting in this environment really matches the whole feel I was going for with it being a social hub in the city always bustling with people on their off time and breaks, I think the lighting had to reflect this so I went with a very warm and inviting tone.

I'll post a screenshot of all the models I've created for the scene so far in Maya with their Low poly and High Poly models and save the final screenshots for my summary in my last blog post.


bottom of page