top of page

Adding life to the scene

More props is the key, filling out the scene and making it feel like its being used was the next step so I began adding small details which I feel made big impacts. The main thing I had to remember when creating these props was to stick with the theme of industrial and scavenged metal. I created a variety of cups, mugs and bottles to be used on the tables and bar, I did this to make it feel like the environment was actually being lived in and used, I also added railings and a Preston flag to hand off the railing. This was because at the start I couldn't decide which city I wanted my environment to be based on as this environment was still a moving city like the ones in the books and soon to be movie Mortal Engines. So it seemed fitting being I've lived and studied in Preston for the past 4 year to have to as my final project.

I also changed the wall textures and because I wanted it to feel like you were in a giant moving machine not a solid structure which was the feel I was getting from the concrete textures. I also added metal tiling to the floor after looking at how a lot of large factory and warehouse floors are. After all of these smaller changes I really felt like the scene was starting to come together with just the main Harpoon left and a few other smaller details. Speaking of the Harpoon area I also created some large metal doors which would be used to seal off that area when not in use capturing smaller prey.


bottom of page