top of page

Blocking out Ideas

I've been looking at how other Environment artists start with creating a new piece and a lot of people tend to either follow a concept or block out a few different ideas first and use references for inspiration.

I also want people who view this environment to be able to tell what kind of people are living in this space, are they good/bad people, clean/dirty, what country they were from and possibly even what city/ town they are travelling on. I'm going to do some research into ship living areas and main decks because this town will constantly be moving and this means everything else will be too so this will be similar to the environments we get on ships at sea.

So other the past few days I have created a few basic block layouts of various rooms I believe would be in my travelling town. The plan now is to get some feedback for these designs, improve upon them or add pieces and then decide on one I want to take forward. I can then start to create some assets in Maya and begin to add more details and do a quick light of the scene to get an idea of the mood I'm wanting to create with this environment.

Meeting Room

Lounge Room

Office Room

Harpoon Room

Anchor Room


bottom of page