top of page

Foliage, Textures and Bikes

With the deadline coming up this Friday I realised I forgot to post an update of how the town has been coming along so I'm, just going to post a lot of screenshots in one go and then talk about the lighting in my next blog post as I feel like that part needs its own post.

So on to what I've been up to, I've added a new detailed prop to the environment, the hover bike which is one of the most complex models I've worked on but I feel like it turned out good and fits in the scene well. I also worked on the textures some more tweaking the ground textures and adding a few different types of materials such as stony sand and cobbles. Then I moved onto the Foliage which took some tweaking and adjustments. But after doing some research and looking at other large environment scenes in my opinion it's clear to see that without any foliage the environment can seem kind of flat and empty, they seem to really come alive once you start adding random plant life and rocks to your scene. Which I hope shows in the screenshots below.

My next post will focus on the lighting as I feel like I learned a lot about lighting a big environment with this project, especially from looking at plenty of other games and designers to see how they achieve their results.


bottom of page