top of page

Unreal progress and Texturing problems

Another progress update, things went well for the first half of the past week I managed to add a few more models added to my core set of modular pieces and then UV all of them and place them into Unreal. The total number of modular pieces is now at 30 and it will probably keep rising until I get the right feeling I want from the houses in my environment. Speaking of the environment, I have created two test houses from which I can test my modular pieces on and see how they look in the Engine and the same for any textures I add as well.

Speaking of Textures I've had a few problems over the past few days with creating them, I am very comfortable using Substance painter now as its what I used for my last semester to texture everything. But the problem is Substance Painter is good for texturing individual models and more complex objects but for this project I will need multiple tileable textures which can be used for a variety of different things such as all of the walls and the landscape. For this the best thing to use is Substance Designer which I have never used before so it's been very slow progress so far but I have been watching a lot of tutorials and I think i'm getting the grasp of things.

For now though here are some screenshots of the assets I have created so far in the Unreal Engine with a few textures applied, a lot of this will most likely change but for now it helps give me an idea of what i want this environment to progress into.


bottom of page