top of page

Semester 2 - Environment Design

For semester two I am going to be looking at environment design and layout for different types of games and how you can best challenge the player and keep them engaged in the game play. The design of an environment for a game depends on what kind of game you are wanting to create,

First and Third person shooters (Call of Duty and Gears of War),

Platformers (Super Meat Boy and Mario),

Mobas (League of Legends and Dota),

RPG's (The Last of Us and Dark Souls).

All of these types of games rely on the layout of their environments, because without an engaging and fair environment then a player would soon become frustrated or bored of that game.

My Aim for this Semester is to use what I learned from last semester and begin applying that to a larger scale. I want to keep improving my modelling and texturing skills as I feel like they have improved a lot through last semester alone. So my goal for the next few weeks is going to be creating a set of models and textures which I can use to create environments for different types of games. Hopefully the final outcome being a handful of maps which would used in many different types of games.


bottom of page