top of page

All about me

So I've been studying Game Design BA for the past 3 years and I recently graduated from the University of Central Lancaster. I still have a passion for game design and I feel like I want to progress further in the subject which is one of the main reasons I have decided to start my Masters in game design.

My focus for my final year of my BA was Environment Art and 2D art, I created a Viking settlement and Card game for two projects I had the whole year to complete. (Those can be viewed here www.danielthornborrow.co.uk) So i would say that my skill set would include 3D modelling and 2D art, with my weaker points being Unreal blue prints and level design.

There are a lot of things which interest me in game design such as the amount of work which goes in to creating a game, the level design aspects of a game, trials and errors when it comes to testing the games and forever learning new skills. When it comes to actual games that interest me i would have to say i am a big fan of strategy games such as the Civilisation series, Stellaris, Europa and the Total war series. I think i just really enjoy the whole strategic and thinking side of this genre, how they can swallow up so much time and really suck you into the world you are running or controlling. But i also enjoy playing a variety of other multiplayer games with friends, these are great for just jumping on for an hour or two having fun and catching up with friends.

The reason i am here is to further develop my understanding of games design, broaden my skills and try new things which i have not previously looked at or avoided because i was not confident in doing so. Some of the areas i intend to look at include looking into level design, figuring out what makes a well planned out and designed space for a game. Looking at unreal and game creation using blueprints, which is something i have always avoided because they have always been confusing for me, possibly even creating a few mini games of my own within unreal. Also animation and how it is used in great effect within games to express emotions, how it is used in the development of mechanics for games and how timing is essential for animations within games. These are all just a few ideas which i would like to look over right now but they could easily develop in to something completely different as the year goes on so we will see where it goes from here on out.


bottom of page